Thursday, 23 May 2024

How to Classify Champions in League of Legends

If you’re an avid League of Legends player, you know that understanding the different classes of champions is essential for success in the game. However, the classification system provided by Riot Games can be somewhat misleading. In this article, we’ll explore a more effective approach to categorizing champions based on their playstyle and item builds.

Champion Classification Reimagined

When it comes to classifying champions, Riot’s system primarily focuses on the position a champion plays. While this is important, it doesn’t provide a comprehensive understanding of a champion’s traits and gameplay.

For example, Riot separates tanks into defensive tanks (Wardens) and offensive tanks (Vanguards). However, this classification overlooks the fact that a champion’s playstyle, itemization, and composition can greatly impact their effectiveness. Take K’Sante, for instance. Although classified as a warden, K’Sante excels equally as an aggressive tank. His disruptive and dangerous presence in the backline rivals that of an assassin.

In essence, Riot’s classification system reflects the fantasy design of champions rather than their actual gameplay. Champions are often played in diverse ways, adapting to different circumstances and strategies. This flexibility and versatility can make classification somewhat derivative.

A Dynamic Approach: Classifying Based on Itemization

To truly understand a champion’s playstyle, it’s crucial to consider how they are built and the stats they prioritize. How a character is built can indicate their desired playstyle and even change their class identity accordingly.

Let’s explore a more dynamic classification system based on itemization:

  • Assassins: Champions focused on flat damage, armor/magic shred.
  • ADCs: Characters specializing in attack speed, damage, and either crit or on-hit effects. Some even have lethality variations similar to assassins.
  • Tanks: Champions prioritizing pure resistances and health.
  • Bruisers: AD champions that strike a balance between offensive and defensive stats.
  • Battlemages: AP champions that blend offensive and defensive stats.
  • Mages: Champions with flat AP, magic penetration, and ability haste.
  • Enchanters: Support champions with items that enhance healing, shielding power, mana regen, and some AP.

While most champions built like a certain class will scale primarily from those stats, there are exceptions. Tank Karmas or Bruiser Assassins can operate more like the classes they build like, rather than the class their abilities or scaling embody. As the game progresses and more items are acquired, these distinctions become even more pronounced. For instance, a Maokai with a Moonstone item starts to resemble more of an Enchanter, and with a full set of Enchanter items, Maokai can even resemble Ivern.

It’s important to note that this classification approach isn’t foolproof, as there are champions with unique scaling or abilities that may not align with their item builds. However, these cases are outliers rather than the norm.


Q: How do I determine a champion’s class based on itemization?
A: Understanding a champion’s class based on itemization requires considering their preferred stats, playstyle, and scaling. Analyzing their item build can give you valuable insights into how they operate within a team composition.

Q: Can a champion’s class change based on the game situation?
A: Absolutely! Champions can adapt their playstyle depending on the circumstances, and their item build can greatly influence their effectiveness in different roles. Flexibility is a key aspect of successful gameplay.

Q: Are there champions that don’t fit the traditional classifications?
A: While most champions can be categorized based on itemization, there are outliers that don’t neatly align with a specific class due to their unique abilities or scaling. These exceptions add depth and diversity to the game.


Understanding how to classify champions in League of Legends is essential for strategic gameplay. By reimagining the classification system based on itemization, players can gain valuable insights into a champion’s playstyle and adapt their strategies accordingly. Remember, flexibility and versatility are key to mastering the diverse world of League of Legends.

For more information on League of Legends and to stay updated on the latest news, visit Wqaindia.