Monday, 22 Jul 2024

Aftermath: A New Expansion for Mortal Kombat 11

NetherRealm Studios has a history of providing post-launch support for their games, and Mortal Kombat 11 is no exception. Since its release in April 2019, the studio has continuously added new content to the game through downloadable expansions. With Aftermath, NetherRealm Studios takes things to the next level by introducing not only additional characters, skins, and stages but also an entirely new story campaign set after the events of Mortal Kombat 11.

A New Chapter Unfolds

In the original story mode of Mortal Kombat 11, Raiden and Liu Kang defeated Kronika, the Keeper of Time, with their combined powers. However, their victory did not immediately lead to a smooth transition. In Aftermath, players uncover the challenges that lie ahead for Raiden and Liu Kang as they attempt to rewrite history without Kronika’s presence. To aid them in this daunting task, Shang Tsung offers his help in retrieving the Crown of Kronika. Joined by Nightwolf, Sheeva, and Fujin, they embark on a time-bending adventure to restore order.


New Additions to the Roster

Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath introduces a wealth of new content. Alongside the captivating story, players can expect new stages, stage fatalities, and three additional characters. Continuing with the game’s trend, two of these characters are returning favorites from previous Mortal Kombat games, while the third is a guest character from a different franchise.

  • Fujin: The god of wind, known for his debut in Mortal Kombat 4, joins his brother Raiden in their quest to rewrite history. Fujin’s move set heavily focuses on wind-based attacks, allowing him to manipulate his sword with devastating effect.

  • Sheeva: Making her way from Mortal Kombat 3, Sheeva, the queen of the Shokan race, joins Shang Tsung’s squad. This fearsome four-armed grappler brings her trademark moves to Mortal Kombat 11, making her a formidable addition to the roster.

  • RoboCop: Building on the game’s tradition of guest characters, RoboCop enters the fray. Voiced by and modeled after the original actor Peter Weller, this technology-driven fighter comes equipped with an arsenal of iconic weapons. From his Auto 9 pistol to a flamethrower and a shoulder cannon with various types of ammunition, RoboCop’s presence adds a touch of ’80s action to the game.


Unveiling Exciting New Scenes

In a scene from the Aftermath story mode, Sheeva, Fujin, Nightwolf, and a Shokan warrior find themselves facing off against Erron Black, Baraka, and an army of tarkatans. The confrontation sparks a thrilling skirmish, with each character showcasing their unique abilities. Shang Tsung hurls a flaming skull, Fujin uses wind to his advantage, and Nightwolf demonstrates his impeccable marksmanship. This engaging scene sets the stage for intense battles to come.

Familiar Stages Return

As part of the expansion, players can look forward to the return of beloved stages. Among the highlights is the classic acid-drenched stage, Klassic Dead Pool, which made its debut in Mortal Kombat II. Additionally, the Soul Chamber arena makes a comeback, providing players with a nostalgic touch to their battles. These iconic stages offer new opportunities for thrilling fights.

Friendships and Beyond

In a heartwarming twist, Mortal Kombat: Aftermath brings back Friendships, a feature first introduced in Mortal Kombat II. Players now have the option to end their matches on a friendly note, with amusing and lighthearted interactions between characters. From Scorpion’s bear hug to Kano’s eye laser grill, these Friendships bring a delightful change of pace to the game. One standout Friendship involves Noob Saibot, who showcases his cloning ability while engaging in a high-energy jump-rope routine with balloon letters spelling out “Friendship.”


Aftermath will be available digitally on May 26, with a physical release planned for June. Pre-ordering the expansion includes the Eternal Klash Skin Pack, featuring skins from previous games for Scorpion, Sub-Zero, and Frost. Additionally, three character skin packs will be released over time. Aftermath can be purchased as an upgrade for current Mortal Kombat 11 owners ($40), as part of a bundle with Mortal Kombat 11’s Kombat Pack 1 ($50), or as a collection including Mortal Kombat 11, Kombat Pack 1, and Aftermath ($60).


Q: Can I purchase Aftermath as a standalone expansion?

A: No, Aftermath is available as an upgrade for existing Mortal Kombat 11 owners.

Q: Are there any bonuses for pre-ordering Aftermath?

A: Yes, pre-ordering includes the Eternal Klash Skin Pack, featuring skins from previous games for Scorpion, Sub-Zero, and Frost.

Q: Will there be additional character skin packs released?

A: Yes, NetherRealm Studios plans to release three character skin packs over time.


Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath is set to offer fans of the series an exciting new adventure. With a compelling story, additional characters, and the return of beloved stages, this expansion promises to enhance the already thrilling Mortal Kombat 11 experience. Whether you’re a loyal fan or a newcomer to the franchise, Aftermath is sure to deliver a gaming experience filled with intense battles, engaging narratives, and surprising twists. Get ready to rewrite history and embrace the chaos that awaits in Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath.

Please note that this is a completely rewritten and reinterpreted article based on the original content provided. The aim was to create a more constructive and informative piece that resonates with the target audience and meets SEO requirements.