Friday, 24 May 2024

A Guided Tour Through The Five Regions of Diablo 4’s Sanctuary

With the highly anticipated release of Diablo IV, Blizzard is bringing a fresh take on the treacherous world of Sanctuary. The game will feature five distinct regions – Kehjistan, Scosglen, Fractured Peaks, Dry Steppes, and Hawezar – each offering its own unique landscapes, cultures, quests, and of course, formidable monsters. This time, Blizzard is focused on creating immersive and cohesive regions that not only provide hours of exploration and adventure but also tell captivating stories.

In Diablo IV, the regions of Sanctuary are far from just one-note areas with a single climate or element. They are richly biodiverse, boasting multiple biomes and exclusive threats. The transitions between regions are seamless, with one area gradually blending into the next. Villages and their residents now reflect the distinct cultures and histories of their respective regions, further enhancing the sense of immersion and making each area feel like a world of its own.

To give us a glimpse into what these regions have in store, we spoke with Blizzard’s talented team of developers, including art director John Mueller, senior game designer II Dini McMurry, associate game designer Madeleine James, and senior game designer II Harrison Pink. They shared insights and video clips showcasing the unique features of each region.


Kehjistan, a desert land inspired by the Middle East and the Mojave desert, was once a thriving civilization but now lies in ruins under shifting sand dunes. Giant scorpions and bandits pose a constant threat to those who dare to venture into this arid landscape. Kehjistan is also home to the Truine cultists, previously only mentioned in lore, who now make their first appearance in a Diablo game. For fans of Diablo III, Kehjistan offers a chance to see how Caldeum, the capital city, has fared since the events of the previous game. Without revealing too much, Blizzard hints at a less-than-ideal situation for the once-great city.


Drawing inspiration from the highlands of Scotland, Scosglen is a scenic yet damp locale. Rolling hills and white sandy beaches dominate the landscape, but beware of the Drowned – undead souls that met their demise at sea – who roam the coastline. At the peak of Scosglen lies an abandoned lighthouse guarded by a massive drowned creature known as the Sea Hag. Scosglen serves as the home for the druid class, a nature-loving shapeshifting class, as well as a storyline centered around the Stronghold, Diablo IV’s cooperative events. The region is also inhabited by the Knights Penitent faction, werewolves, and giant spiders. The Blood Moors, a dangerous area from Diablo III, has undergone further transformation, reflecting the worsening conditions of the region.


No RPG is complete without a poisonous swamp, and Hawezar delivers just that. Drawing inspiration from Florida’s marshlands and European swamps, this zone is teeming with poisonous flora and fauna that will plague even the most seasoned explorers. One of the most grotesque and fearsome enemies found here are the Nangari – snake-like creatures with human appendages and multiple heads. Hawezar is partially occupied by soldiers from the Order of Zakarum, a religious order dedicated to the light. Settlements like Zarbinzet are filled with armored crusaders, and the region is dotted with old Zakarum forts that give a glimpse into the order’s failed expedition.

Fractured Peaks

This frigid region is home to the Cathedral of Light, a religious authority known for its draconian rule. Inspired by the Carpathian Mountains, Fractured Peaks is a harsh and cold environment, with some areas trapped in perpetual blizzards. Residents find solace under the protection of the Cathedral of Light, but only if they toe the line. The region features stunning waterfalls created by melted snow that flows into Hawezar’s swampy waterways. Alabaster Monastery, a heavily guarded fortress high on a mountain, plays a significant role in the campaign questline. As players ascend, they will face the chilling presence of Khazra, also known as Goatmen, who wield ice magic.

Dry Steppes

Located between Scosglen and Fractured Peaks, the Dry Steppes are characterized by dry grasslands and rocky cliffs. Inspired by Yellowstone National Park, the region includes lava rivers, multicolored geothermal pools, and white sandy beaches. Barbarians, who have lost their home on Mount Arreat, have settled here, but their journeys are constantly threatened by cannibal hordes. Mercenary parties protect valuable water caravans from these attacks. The Dry Steppes also hold the salt flats biome, where deeper secrets lie waiting to be discovered.

While Diablo IV’s campaign takes players on a globetrotting adventure through all these regions, side quests offer a localized experience, delving deeper into the stories and struggles of each region’s inhabitants. Dungeons reflect the unique aesthetics of their respective areas, and certain monster families utilize specific elements, adding depth to the gameplay experience.

Blizzard understands that while Diablo IV embraces a dark tone, it cannot be devoid of life and hope. By incorporating a diverse range of art styles and providing relatable characters, the game strikes a balance between darkness and humanity, allowing players to emotionally connect with the world of Sanctuary.

Diablo IV is set to launch on June 6 for PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X/S, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC. Players can also get an early taste of the game during the open beta from March 24-26.


Q: When does Diablo IV release?
A: Diablo IV will be released on June 6 for various platforms, including PlayStation, Xbox, and PC.

Q: What regions can players explore in Diablo IV?
A: Diablo IV features five exciting regions: Kehjistan, Scosglen, Fractured Peaks, Dry Steppes, and Hawezar.

Q: Are the regions in Diablo IV diverse?
A: Absolutely! Each region in Diablo IV is biodiverse, featuring multiple biomes and unique threats.

Q: Can players expect compelling stories within each region?
A: Yes! Side quests in Diablo IV focus on fleshing out the stories and hardships of each region’s inhabitants, providing players with an intimate look into their lives.


Diablo IV promises to be an immersive and captivating gaming experience, with its five distinct regions offering a wide variety of landscapes, quests, and monsters. Blizzard’s attention to detail and commitment to creating cohesive and diverse regions ensure that players will be engaged in the world of Sanctuary. Whether venturing into the arid deserts of Kehjistan or braving the frigid peaks of the Cathedral of Light, players will find themselves drawn into a world where danger lurks at every turn. Get ready to embark on an unforgettable journey when Diablo IV launches on June 6.